Elsecar have taken the South Yorkshire Premier League title for the 18th time with victory at Wath.

Wickersley celebrated winning the title earlier in the month but were deducted 21 points for two fracases with other teams during the season. They then lost to Elsecar last week which, along with dropped points for Whitley Hall, meant the Barnsley side just needed to win at Wath to finish first.

In Text Promo Image

Wath were bowled out for 131 as Luke Townsend finished with figures of five for 36 off 15 overs including the wicket of Wath junior Sam Drury who top-scored with a battling 49. Afzal chipped in with three for 40. After tea, Elsecar reached their target with five wickets left.

Relegated Houghton Main fell 30 runs short at home to Whiston as former Barnsley FC star Scott Jones took seven for 34.

In Division One, Paul Wilkinson recorded incredible figures of nine for 19 off 12 overs as promoted Darfield finished their season off with a win at home to Conisbrough.

Wombwell Main secured the Pontefract League Division Two title as they skittled hosts Sandal for 81 on Saturday. Wombwell will compete in Division One next season against Monk Bretton and Stainborough who both stayed up despite losing on Saturday.

Darton survived relegation from Division Three as N Hunter (52) and D Hawley (42) led them to 186 for seven before H Moore (four for 35) skittled Hundhill Hall for 120.

Chris Degnan took five for 22 as champions West Bretton skittled Glasshoughton for 73 after making Jonny Winwood (79) led them to 246.

Penistone missed a golden chance to go top of the Premier Division with a game to play but they were thwarted by brilliant centuries from Woolley’s Greg Crowcroft and Ian Norton and are out of the title race. With top two Mount and Thurstonland both having their matches called off due to weather, Penistone could have gone from third to top with a win in the local derby.

But Woolley posted a huge total of 312 for six as Crowcroft smashed 116 and Ian Norton made 110 not out. In reply, Penistone fell well short on 264 for nine despite good knocks by captain Ian Richards (89) and Michael Brown (56).