Barnsley won 3-1 at Worksop Town in their first pre-season friendly of the summer.

The Reds raced into a 3-0 lead at half-time thanks to goals by Devante Cole, Aaron Leya Iseka and Callum Brittain.

The hosts pulled one back early in the second half for which the Reds made a raft of changes and mainly used under 23s.

Mads Andersen and Carlton Morris did not feature but watched from the sidelines along with players returning from injury such as Brad Collins, Jordan Williams, Herbie Kane and Michal Helik.

Cole opened the scoring in the eighth minute, firing into the bottom left corner from 20 yards after Aaron Leya Iseka brought down a long ball in the box and found his strikepartner.

Luke Thomas – who was playing in central midfield – saw a shot easily saved from the edge of the box after Iseka again ran onto a pass in the box and pulled it back.

It was 2-0 on 28 minutes when Clarke Oduor’s free-kick was fumbled by the goalkeeper and Iseka tapped in.

Cole and Iseka were taken off after half an hour, for Jack Aitchison and Aiden Marsh who shot wide from 20 yards while Liam Kitching headed an Oduor free-kick well wide.

Brittain made it 3-0 with a powerful strike into the top left corner from 15 yards after Thomas passed to him following an initial good ball by Kitching.

There were a host of changes at the break, with the second half team mainly consisting of under 23s players.

Kareem Hassan-Smith, playing at left wing-back, lost the ball then conceded a free-kick five minutes after the break and the penalty was fired in by Liam Hardy.

The rest of the match was very dull. Aitchison fired wide on the turn then he was replaced by Tomas Kalinauskas, who jinked past a defender in the box then tried to pass to Jordan Helliwell with the goal gaping in front of him. Kalinauskas – who was released last month – fired another chance wide late on.

Barnsley first half team: 3-5-2: Walton; Moon, Sraha, Kitching; Brittain, Wolfe, Thomas, Benson (Ackroyd 30); Cole (Aitchison 30), Iseka (Marsh).

Second half team: Searle; Lancaster, Ariely, D Benson; Hondermarck, Nejman, Ackroyd, Helliwell, Hassan-Smith; Marsh (Bremang 60), Aitchison (Kalinauskas 60).