BARNSLEY Schoolgirls will attempt to win a record-breaking third successive national title on Saturday.

The under 12s girls are due to take on Knowsley St Helens in the National ESFA Plate final at Sixways Stadium in Worcester, at noon.

The last two years have seen national success for Barnsley Schoolgirls teams, with the under 15s winning last year and the under 12s the year before.

Players from this current squad attend schools across the borough, including Dearne, Carlton Outwood, Shafton Outwood, Horizon, Trinity St Edwards and Penistone. The players play for local clubs AFC Pogmoor, Barnsley Ladies, Barnsley Women, Junior Tykes, SAFG and Penistone Church.

Manager Scott Clarke said: “These girls have been an absolute pleasure to work with, showing skill and technique on a consistent level all season. With only injuries preventing league success, they now need to win this trophy to reflect this level of performance.”

The team is also due to play the following week in the Yorkshire Federation Cup final.

Assistant manager Jon Bedford said: “There is no reason why the girls can’t achieve a cup double. They certainly have the ability and half of this squad will be sent for England trials next season.”

Girls football is thriving in Barnsley, while both Barnsley Women’s FC and Barnsley FC women play in the fourth tier of the senior game.

In Text Promo Image

Steve Gates of Barnsley Schools FA said: ““There has never been such a success story like this one in Barnsley with schoolgirls and girls football in particular. “Barriers have been broken down, perceptions have been reversed and equal opportunities addressed.

"Any girl now living in Barnsley has nearly full equal access to curriculum football and extra-curricular football in schools, just as any boy has.

“Already this year, two of our schoolgirls are in the England Talent ID Programmes and I am confident that there will be more next year.”

The squad for the final is: Josie Charlesworth, Evelyn Ogden, Harlow Sylvester-Bedford, Italia Midgley, Ruby Kate Birley, Casey-Jo Vicary, Elsa Bishop, Isabelle Moxon, Lexi Burgess, Ruby Scott, Ava Grace Jowitt, Scarlett Corker, Lily Clarke, Grace Jones and Evie Hemmingway.